3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2008 12:58 PM by Andrew Thompson

rocking chair simulation

Andrew Thompson
      Hello,

Absolute newbie to cosmotion here. I'd like to use simulation to test the movement of various rocking chair designs, in particular I'd like to find out how each design will sit at rest after rocking (that is how leaned-forward or leaned back)--no weight in the chair.

So far I've set up an assembly that includes my rocking chair (or substitute arc) and a platform acting as the floor.

I've set a tangent mate between the face of the floor and the bottom face of the rocker. I begin the simulation with the chair tilted back (or forward) and let gravity and various 3dcontact setups do their thing.

Problem is the system does not seem to come to a rest. The rocking movement slows quickly at first, but then seems top plateau-out and maintain a sort of consistent wiggle from there on.

Any ideas about how I might better set this up to get more realistic results?

Thanks.
        • rocking chair simulation
          Pete Yodis
          Andrew,

I would think you would need some damping characeristics in your motion model, otherwise your system will remain in movement (conservation of energy). A damping characeristic would provide a means of energy dissipation. Instead of a tangent mate between the floor and rocker, you could choose a 3D contact interaction and define the contact properties for the bodies. You may be able to enable friction in your tangency joint as well - without having to delete the tangnecy joint and create a 3D contact parameter.
              Ian Hogg
              Andrew,

I concur with Peter.

By default there is no energy loss without contact damping or friction. You may however see a little numeric damping/instability just due to accuracy (normally by having a large time step or low accuracy setting for the solver)