15 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2016 8:23 PM by Bill Toft

helix out of sheetmetal - student level

Maurits De Wolff

Hello,

I'm working on a school assignment (engineering). This particular assignment is about general business improvement. I want to illustrate my text with a fancy Plan-Do-Check-Act circle. So far I have created 2 identical helix shapes in SW 2015. How do I convert both lines into metal sheet (any solid looking surface would be good). I studied several video's about sheet metal helix but I don't get it. Also, I want to partition my helix in 5 segments per 360 degrees and somewhat colorize those parts. Like I did in my simple and flat version. I do appreciate all the advice I could get.

Thanks Maurits

• Re: helix out of sheetmetal - student level
          Bill Toft

Don't use sheet metal. Instead use surfaces. Create a new 3D sketch and convert the 2 Helixes, then join the ends with lines. Use surface fill. Then use split line to get your segments.

Maurits De Wolff

Thanks for your replie Bill. I followed your instructions. I set up a simplified version of the two helixes, I then selected both of them (ctrl-click IIRC) and converted them through >insert>surface>extrude. I get a reference of 100 which is the difference between both radii. So something did happen there.

Then I started a new sketch-on-plane where I seem to be able to connect the 2 helix lines at both ends.

Then I click OK and try to use >insert>surface>fill but this option is greyed out.

Solidworks interface seems very complex to the novice user. Where did I take a wrong turn?

Thanks maurits

Maurits De Wolff

I did get some kind of surface effect with the loft-command. But that is not good enough. I'll keep working on it.

Bill Toft

Maurits,

I did a single 3D sketch. In it I first converted the two helix curves. Then I added the straight lines to join the ends. So I ended up with a single 3D sketch that was closed. Now the Surface Fill command will work.