15 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2016 11:33 AM by Paul Salvador

Drop in render passes from 13 to 1 pass per second

Harish Pawaskar

Rendering runs at 13 passes per second till it reaches 3000 passes, then there is a pause for few minutes and drops down to 1 pass per second.

Wondering what is the reason for this.

running on single GTX 980 ti on windows 10 64Bit OS.

• Re: Drop in render passes from 13 to 1 pass per second
          Fin Jackson

Hi Harish,

What type of render are you doing? CPU, GPU or Hybrid?

Any appearances applied that could be considered 'expensive' such as glass?

Also, the GeForce GPU might be the cause, the Quadro range are the supported cards, I've linked below a great blog on comparison between GPUs in Visualize renders;

SOLIDWORKS Visualize - Graphics performance NVIDIA Quadro

Regards

Fin

Thomas Loeff

Rendering Newbie here,

how do you select the render method as described above please?

Thanks

Brian Hillner

Hi Thomas,

Welcome to Visualize. There is a code within Visualize to understand what hardware you have on your machine to select the most optimum renderer method. You can always change this and manually select the desired render method via the Tools > Options > 3D Viewport

Hybrid is recommended for most machines, unless you have 2 or more GPUs (graphics cards).

Click this link to watch the Visualize tutorials on MySolidWorks. We have 6 now and 10 more are coming soon:

SOLIDWORKS Visualize | MySolidWorks Training

Thanks and happy rendering. Please remember to post your images at this forum thread link to receive feedback from the larger Visualize community!

Visualize rendered content

Thomas Loeff