2 Replies Latest reply on May 6, 2016 12:20 PM by Amit Katz

Cavitation with a ball valve

Marco Rauseo

Hello everyone, my name is Marco, I'm a Mechanical Engineer to be and I'm currently working on a ball valve project. This valve works with water so I'm verifying the cavitation model and here occurs my problem: I'm running a simulation and at 1000 iterations (0.125 travel) it doesn't cavitate yet, even though there's a strong deltaP between inlet and outlet and I'm sure it has to cavitate. I know it is not a whole travel, but with all the other cavitation projects I did, the phenomenon started really soon! I modified all the calculation control options as tutorial said and my mesh is really well refined through appropriate volumes...so I don't know what's wrong. Could somebody help me out please?

Thank you in advance

• Re: Cavitation with a ball valve
          Seckin Uslu

could you please give us more info?

Like model or setting etc..

• Re: Cavitation with a ball valve
            Amit Katz

Have you done any hand calculations on how much cavitation you expect, or is this more of a "gut feeling"? I would go over all of this stuff (from the online help) and see if you missed anything during setup:

Hydrodynamic cavitation usually occurs in flowing liquids when the pressure falls sufficiently low in some region of the flow. This cavitation starts with the formation of bubbles in the liquid which are filled with vapor and dissolved gases. An area of two-phase flow, also called a hydrodynamic cavitation cavern, is created downstream of this region.