13 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2016 4:27 AM by Patrk Rećko

Jet ski pump solver terminated

Patrk Rećko

Hello everyone,
      I am new on this forum so firstly let me introduce myself. My name is Patryk and I am a student of Mechanical engineering in Bialystok, Poland.
      I'm working on my school project which is a flow in jet ski drive, an example of axial water pump. My problem is that I getting an error at about 4500 iteration (~2/4 travels): "Solver abnormally terminated! Please contact the support service", but when I'm solving the same simulation but on scaled model, two or three times smaller, there is no error, solver finishing normally.
      I tried to do internal and external flows, low and high quality mesh and problem is always the same, solver terminates on true scale model, but on two or three times smaller it doesn't.

I'm working with a cavitation model turned on and rotating region.
      I noticed that a while before error appears, density, velocity and pressure suddenly increase their values and sometimes I'm getting an error "Real gas parameters (pressure and/or temperature) are outside the definitional domain of substance properties T<Tmin".
      Anyone could help me ?
      Best regards,
      Patryk

• Re: Jet ski pump solver terminated
          Amit Katz

This error is a catch-all error that means "I give up!" for the software. From how you describe your parameters spiking I'm guessing the solution diverges and the model becomes unsolvable. Possibly the mesh is too coarse. And if you need more than 4500 iterations to solve your model, then it's probably not set up correctly. Any chance you can upload your project?

Patrk Rećko

Zippyshare.com - 4000RPM cavitation ON.rar