10 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2016 1:51 PM by Alan Knapper

saving sheet format

Alan Knapper

I'm just getting into SW 2D, and am attempting to create some sheet formats.

I can get a title block added in, and that saves just fine.

However, when I change the Doc Properties in Options, those will not save into my new format.

If I save as a template, it keeps the properties. If I use that same template file and save as a format, it converts those properties back to default.

If I save as a DRW, then try to save as a format, it converts the properties back to default.

What's happening here, and how can I fix it?

• Re: saving sheet format
          Deepak Gupta

Sheet format does not save document properties, those are controlled by template.

However you can export drafting standard and then you can apply those to files as required.

Alan Knapper

But what is the fine line between a template and a format? Aren't they essentially the same thing, and if so, why don't they act the same?

And if not, why isn't it possible for them to act the same, anyhow?

Deepak Gupta

A sheet format is a child part part of template. You can assume a template as assembly and sheet format as a child component.

So both are different things.

Eric Blankinship

Alan,

What you are going to want to do is create both sheet format and template.  I setup something similar for my company recently.  The template .drwdot will save the title block information, custom properties, standard used, & few other things. If put into the right location or if you change the file location to point to where your template is saved it will be accessible on File>New.  (Do note if you change the file location you will either need to copy the existing solidworks .prtdot & .asmdot files or will need to create your own)   Also to note if you want to use multiple templates make sure you are set to "advanced" mode in the new file creation or it will default to the first template.