7 Replies Latest reply on Mar 18, 2016 4:28 PM by Reed Anderson

Drawing Standards Question

Reed Anderson

I am new to Solidworks and CAD in general.  I started using Solidworks about 18 months ago and I am decent at parts modeling and using assemblies.  The requirements for my job are of a very basic level as all the parts I create are machined for internal use and are usually quite simple.  I passed the CSWA recently and am working towards the P in the future but my current skill set is more than sufficient for my employers needs, I want to advance myself for personal reasons.  One area I know needs to be improved, both for personal and professional reasons is drawings.  My company is small and has no CAD department and no internal drawing standards.  My drawings were nightmares when I started out but with time and research I have vastly improved from where I started.  I know basic ANSI standards and good practice but with no formal classes or education I am sure the drawings I create would greatly benefit from an experienced opinion.  That being said, I was familiar with GD&T but have never employed GD&T standards (nor has anyone at my company) as I have no clue how to and the precision we need has never been a problem.  I am aware of situations where GD&T can prevent 'accumulating' tolerance (not sure what the proper vocabulary is there) but with the simplicity of our parts and use of ordinate dimensions, this has not yet been an issue.