6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 11, 2016 1:50 PM by Joe Schmo

New user from IV, what are some of the SWX equivalent commands?

Joe Schmo

So I'm new to SWX and come from the IV world.  I was wondering if someone could give me the equivalent SWX command to that in IV?  I do searches but because the terminology is different I find myself having trouble finding them. Also there's a few features I've seen in various videos I'm having trouble finding how to add to my interface.

A. Adaptive and or Flexible assy.

B.  How do I get to the list of parameters and their formulas?

C.  iMates

D. iAssy's

E. iParts

F. FDS assets

G. How do I get the surface tab as part of the Features tab and not a standalone menu?

H. Insert constraint.  It's technically a surface mate constraint and axis mate constraint rolled into one but is a nice feature.

I. Is there a selection wheel?  All I've found is the select other option which I find somewhat less preferable.

J.  How do I get the feature wheel option to show?  I've seen this in videos and it looks nice.

K.  Where can I find a list of the shortcuts keys?

L.  Why do I see a constraint option only sometimes and usually only for a split second.  I typically need to select items>right-click> pray the options to add constraints shows up.  Often with sketch constraints and lots of other items like hide/show I will see the option but the second I move my cursor to the option the box disappears.

M. Adaptive parts.

N. FDS connectors

• Re: New user from IV, what are some of the SWX equivalent commands?
          Glenn Schroeder

Welcome to the forum.  I'll help where I can.

A.  See #1 at Frequently Asked Forum Questions

G.  Right-click on the gray area at the very top of your monitor and choose "Customize" from the drop-down.  You can drag any command you want from there onto any tab. (I have several Weldment commands on my Features tab.)

I. and J.  Do you mean Mouse Gestures?