4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 22, 2016 11:11 PM by Prasad Bhonsule

    Reset SW Registry -- More Details?

    John Willett

      (Not sure this is an appropriate question for this forum, nor the correct section in which to ask it, but I can't find any better.  This question applies to an individual installation under Windows 7 SP1, running in a "Standard User" account, and specifically to SW 2016 Premium SP2.0 out of the three versions of SW currently installed in their own separate directories and with their own separate Data, Custom Materials, Custom Template, etc., directories.)

       

      When SW is acting up and tech support can't think of an explanation, they often suggest renaming the entire "Computer/HKCR/Software/Solidworks" registry key and letting SW re-create the factory-default version.  While this may be a viable alternative for a single-version installation, where it is relatively easy to recall and re-program personal settings after the reset, it is clearly much more difficult to recover the customizations of several different versions -- in my case, 2014, 2015, and now 2016.  When I look at the designated registry key on my machine, however, I see the following:

      Clear SW Registry.png

      This suggests that it might be a viable alternative to delete only the "SOLIDWORKS 2016" sub-key and not destroy the custom settings of all the earlier versions.

       

      So is this (or anything like it) viable, or do I have to lose everything to reset only SW2016?

        • Re: Reset SW Registry -- More Details?
          Prasad Bhonsule

          Hi John, no you can delete only the SW2016 key, without affecting the others. Also you do not have to delete it as such, you can simply rename the key to something like SW2016_old, which will achieve the same result.

           

          Kind regards

           

          Prasad Bhonsule

            • Re: Reset SW Registry -- More Details?
              John Willett

              Thanks, Prasad, for the quick response, albeit bad news.  One follow-up if I may:

               

              I can, of course, use the corresponding Copy Settings Wizard for each version to save each customization before the registry reset.  Then, when I restart any version for the first time after the reset, should I expect to go through the registration/activation routine all over again for each version, or only for the first one?  Will all the SP updates remain intact?

               

              Any other pitfalls that you envision to get all three versions up and running again? -- John Willett