6 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2016 9:07 AM by John Alexander

macro hanging with large assembly

Thomas Alberts

I have a macro that works well on small to medium sized assemblies but does not do well with large assemblies.

The macro looks at a drawing BOM and updates a custom properties field with the QTY from the drawing.  Is there a better way to accomplish this or clean up my macro,  I am not a programming expert.  Thanks.   

• Re: macro hanging with large assembly
          Thomas Alberts

The macro does work, it took about an hour to run through a table with 500 parts.  I still have an issue where the table is updated but the parts are not all updated.  In some instances it happens to 1 out of 10 configurations.

If I delete and recreate the BOM it shows which values have not been changed.  Prior to running the macro all the quantities are set to X with another macro.  If I change "qtyrqd" to an arbitrary number on the parts that have an issue, and run the macro again it still doesn't update.

QtyRqd is configuration specific on all parts. 

Elmar Klammer

If you have duplicate components in the BOM then you write multiple times to that part as you traverse the bom

John Alexander

This doesn't look like it should take half an hour to loop over 500 lines. When you run it, is the VBA editor open? I usually have significantly slower run-times with the editor running.

I'm not very familiar with the functions that modify BOM table fields. Looking at your code, it just looks like text manipulation. I think you might have better results if you get a reference to the CustomPropertyManager of each component in the model that is driving the BOM Table and modify the custom property directly. Using that method, you will then have the added benefit of getting a return value when the assignment fails. Let me know if you have any questions about getting that object from where you are now.