6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2016 3:47 PM by James Riddell

Hi! A pack of cokes..

Bob Larry

Hello all-

I'm new to solidworks but I have worked with other 3D design programs.

I have two parts: (1) a rectangular shell with the rough dimensions of a 12 pack of soda and (2) a coke can.

I'd like to fill this box up with cans using 'real world' constraints and physics. IE- the cans don't poke through the box and obey gravity.

I've worked in assemblies and mated parts before but I can't quite wrap my head around how to go about this.

Thanks!

• Re: Hi! A pack of cokes..
          Glenn Schroeder

Welcome to the forum, and to using SolidWorks.  Creating a soda can and the box should be fairly straightforward.  Then you can create an assembly with the box and one can.  It shouldn't be too much trouble to mate the can in one corner, then use a Linear Pattern to add the other 11 cans.  If you're having problems with those things, if you can post more specific information about where you're stuck it would be helpful.

As far as the cans obeying gravity, I'm not sure about that.  Do you mean that maybe the box is slightly larger than required for the cans, and you want the cans to move in the box as the box is rotated?  If so, it can't be done in a standard Assembly, but it might be possible with SW Simulation.  I don't know enough about it to answer that, but I'm sure someone else can.

Bob Larry

Thanks for your reply, Glenn.

Your second paragraph pretty much hits the nail on the head for what I'm trying to accomplish.  You've done me a favor by confirming this is not something that can be done in a standard assembly. So I guess my question is more simulation than assembly oriented!

Josh Chapman