5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 25, 2016 9:40 AM by Michael Woerther

Report Generator - Need help

Mark Kot

Hello,

Question, is it possible to create a report *.cdr that returns all the SQL data associated with a file. I mean across all the SQL tables etc.

We have a bunch of files that are corrupted and acting weird. We would like to see the full "DNA" fingerprint.

Ideally I would prefer that you input the file name (example 123456.sldprt) instead of dragging it in.

Reason for the Input box is because:

the files are in the Archive Server, are listed in the SQL database, are not deleted, but do not show up in the PDM Search or in the Windows Explorer's folder. (Even ADMIN will not see it, so it is not a permission issue)

I'm totally new to SQL, and any programming.

If anybody has or knows if such a report can be created, any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

• Re: Report Generator - Need help
          Mark Kot

Sorry, I meant the *.crp Report.

Charley Saint

It's possible but probably not too useful, the problem is that even one file would return hundreds of rows of data if you joined it on every possible table. It's a multiplying effect, so you'd get one row for each version times one for each configuration times once for each time it's referenced times once for each file it contains times one for each variable, etc. etc. This report will give you simple info about a file like if it's deleted in the documents table or the documentsinprojects table, plus info about what state it's in or if it's in a user's private state (never checked in)

Mark Kot

Ok, I understand the multiplying effect.

I really appreciate your help.

One question for you Charley, do you know if there is an entry in some SQL table that prevents the files from being displayed in PDM Search.

The PDM Archive server has these files in their corresponding Hex scrambled folders. The SQL Database has these files listed, as present. etc.