10 Replies Latest reply on Jan 26, 2016 6:12 AM by Bryce Gill

Debugging Help for an amateur programmer

Kevin Collins

I am a definite rookie when it comes to the API, and furthermore, to programming.  I am SO close to having my macro working, but I am getting an error that I need to debug.  This appears to be the final hurdle to getting my macro to function as I intended.

The debug error states:  "Object variable or With block not set".  Below is the line of code that is causing the error:

Debug_Macro.jpg

I think I know how to set a variable, I'm just not sure which variable to set or what to set it to.

I can include the full macro if it would be helpful.

Thanks in advance!

• Re: Debugging Help for an amateur programmer
          Attilio Colangelo

TextBox1 is an object that has many properties.  You want the text property which is the actual text string.  Something like this:

TextBox1.Text = <put your string here>

It may require a more full reference to the text box in the form..

Me.Controls("TextBox1").Text  = <put your string here>

This is for VBA.

Deepak Gupta

Have you set Length, Width and Height as double?

Also could you share full macro to debug?

John Alexander

Have all the variables in that line (Length, Width, Height) been initialized?

One helpful step when posting questions is to provide context (the entire Sub/Function that you are working on or even the entire macro if it isn't proprietary).

----

Dim TextBox1 As String

Dim Length As String

Dim Width As String

Dim Height As String

Length = ""

Width = ""

Height = ""

TextBox1 = Length & " x " & Height & " x " & Width

Roland Schwarz

Default properties for objects are for amateurs and idiots. Try not to be either.

Bryce Gill

Kevin,