13 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2015 8:34 AM by Eric Henderson

Beginner here with a few questions google won't answer..

Bart K.

Hi folks,

For my study(Automotive Engineering) i've used Inventor for the past two years to design and calculate stuff,

and now we're starting with Solidworks 2016. (so please note that i don't even have the slightest experience with it yet..)

My problem is that, as you may most probably know, a lot of things are different between these two CAD programs.

The most important and significant issue is the mouse controls, since inventor and solid use different controls.

Because i'm used to inventor i constantly keep rotating when i want to pan, and zooming when i want to rotate, etc. It's really frustrating..

As i understand it, solidworks itself does not provide an option to tweak these controls but there may be thirdparty add-ins who do.

This question has been asked and answered(negatively) before in previous years but they may be obsolete by now.

Another thing is the geometry lines. I'd rather have my model look professional than like a colouring picture, but solid appears to lack the option to disable these by default.

The last thing is that inventor gives the ability to set the dimensions of sketchlines and features on the fly while you create them.

I'm not sure whether solid has this function or not, but i can't find it and it'd be extremely useful and time saving.

I'd be grateful if you could help me with any of these issues.

Cheers

• Re: Beginner here with a few questions google won't answer..
          Eric Henderson

For the last one, try this in your system options.

Kevin Chandler

Hello,

For the mouse, you can also use Mouse Gestures, which configurable.

You can reverse the mouse wheel zoom direction on the System Options, View panel.

Not exactly sure about your "coloring book" paragraph, but you can change some colors in Document Options, Model Display panel.