13 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2016 11:07 AM by Scott Stuart

edrawing api (2016) where to get AxEmodelView

Duane Blanchet

I'm trying to update a vb application that used eDrawing 2012 api to 2016. 

I replaced the EModelView reference but I can't find AxInterop.EModelView.dll

I think I need to add the EDrawing Control to the toolbox but I don't see it in the COM Components.

This is my first time working with the eDrawing API so I hope it's not a stupid question..

• Re: edrawing api (2016) where to get AxEmodelView
          Heinz Navratil

Hi Duane,

do you want to do it under 32-bit?

If yes than there are no good news for you

see note for SWX 2015

Service Packs, Simulation, PDM, 3DVIA Products, SOLIDWORKS Viewer, Free CAD Tools Downloads | Windows, Mac, Linux | SOL…

"This is the last eDrawings version that will install/run on any 32-bit Windows operating System"

regards

Heinz

闫 志 峰 志 峰

i meet this problem ,too   I develop a solidworks application ,and i want to use edrawing view to see the model,but it fails,can you help me ?

Robert Duncan

I'm having similar issues. I did have some luck using the API instructions and samples here: 2016 SOLIDWORKS API Help - Getting Started  I can sort of get this work in Visual Studio 2012 if I don't change the form. I can't find any way to add the control to the Windows Form Toolbox.

I could get a document to open and print, but only if I had a local copy. If I try to mix the EDrawing API and EPDM API in one program, it just crashes.

I've tried doing all sort of things, changing the target .NET platforms of the samples, which use .Net Framework 2. You have to do that anyway if you want to use the EPDM 2016 API, which needs at least v4. This included using the TLBIMP.EXE from that platform. I also tried changing the target platform (X86, X64, Any CPU).

Nothing seems to work here.

Simon Turner