6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2015 2:46 PM by Kevin Chandler

hello

Ahmed Moahmed

hello every one , i'm a beginner so i want to learn get some models in 2d and 3d to practice on redrawing them .

• Re: hello
          Chris Saller

Hello. Good.

Zac Evans

Welcome! My best advice is to get a pair of callipers if you don't have some already, then get an every day item like a pencil, and model that in Solidworks, then try different ways to make it. There are tons of different ways to make the same thing in Solidworks, it's good practice to know which way would then be best for each part made.

Vladimir Urazhdin

There are ton of different models professionally created in SW and available for download.

Download, research, try to build yourself the same or similar staff, (may be different ways), and be creative!

Anurag Shukla

Hello

you can also have a look at 3D ContentCentral  to find out some cool models of your interest, download them, study them and try to remodel them.

Regards,

Anurag

Martin MacDonald

If you are a beginner, SW already comes with inbuilt tutorials on different subjects. Go to Help > Tutorials to activate them. That might be a good place to start if you are brand new to the software.

Kevin Chandler

Hello,

Already modeled files are best used to:

1) Save modeling time (like for common component or a manufacturer's model) where it's what you need (or just needs a few tweaks to make it so).

2) To learn from someone's history tree (assuming it hasn't been purged) on how to combine SW's abilities (& yours) to make a complex part that you must later modify (like how to model the wire wrapped around the ferric core for choke).

We must first learn the alphabet before we form our words and after that, our words can be formed into sentences.

3) A lot of freebie models that look like they'd be cool to learn from, are in fact only available as solid files (STEP, IGES, SAT) and once imported have no history from which to learn.