24 Replies Latest reply on Dec 23, 2015 1:49 PM by Paul Salvador

How can I draw this?

Jsadjs Dhasdhasdh

Drawing.png

This has to be in first angle projection. I have a lot of questions regarding this drawing.

• Which Plane do I need to chose
      • What are those dashed lines
      • Do those dashed lines represent the inner part of the drawing or outer?
      • On the curved surface I am pretty sure I need to create a sketched fillet but how do I create the axis of revolution?
      • What are those double dashed lines?
      • Do I need to use a revolved extrude in the end?
      • How do I make this 10 diameter pipe and connect it with the other shape?

I got so many questions. I am a beginner and got a hang on basic concepts. 

• Re: How can I draw this?
          Jose Araujo

This is a simple part, but:

You are Mechanical Designer?

You know how to use SolidWorks?

Jody Byram

As Jose implys, these are basic questions that any mechanical designer should know already...

1) any plane will do to start with, I'd use top plane out of habit.  several other planes may need to be created as you go.

2&3 ) dashed lines are hidden lines, showing the edge of inner diameters in this case.

4) fillets are created tangent to two faces, so revolution axis is not needed

5) Double dashed lines indicate a threaded inner diameter

6) You can make a revolved base/boss, or an extruded base/boss, but not both at once.  A "revolved extrude" kind of like saying a "straight circle" .. it cannot exist. The only part that might need a revolve is the tapered section inside the right cylinder, but I did it with a 10 x 15 chamfer..

7) I don't see a 10 dia pipe anywhere...the 10 wide webs are tangent to the cylinders on each side.

Make a layout sketch like the one below, then convert the needed entities from it to each new sketch as you build the part from bottom up.

fitting.GIFfitting 2.GIF

Kelef Man

hei'ya Jsadjs,

welcome to the forums,

here's my take on the inf supplied