6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 2, 2015 8:06 AM by Dan Bertschi

Drag & Drop Blocks in DraftSight?  Please point me in the right direction...

Dan Bertschi

Many moons ago, I started learning SolidWorks and AutoCAD at the same time.  Coming from Computer Vision 4 (d'oh! now you know how old I am...), I chose to concentrate my efforts on SolidWorks & 3D design & never looked back.

I'm currently working for a company that creates drawings, similar to electrical schematics & flow charts, to express a logic system used with safety interlock equipment.  What I hope to accomplish is the following:

1. Create a library of drag & drop blocks (icons) that have connection points. (think Visio).
      2. Create automation tools that might count/itemize the blocks and report a BOM type of chart that would indicate what products are needed to complete the scheme.
      3. Provide these tools (with free DraftSight) to our sales people & customers.
      4. Anything else that might help automate the process & educate our customers.

I'm not expecting anyone to do my work, but I'll take any time saving tips regarding block creation (meta-data use included), what key words to search on, etc.  I'm just looking for a nudge in the right direction, since I've managed to avoid most Autodesk products during my career!  I'm choosing this path, of course, because of the free DraftSight license.  I want to empower our customers with these tools to hopefully increase our market visibility, and increase sales.

Wish me luck & thanks in advance for any responses!

• Re: Drag & Drop Blocks in DraftSight?  Please point me in the right direction...
          Kevin Chandler

Hello,

1) Do you need/want text properties to be associated with each block instance?

Look into attributes (as opposed to adding "regular" text entities). Attributes can be with default values, invisible, non-plotting.

Plan and add them ahead. Painful to retrofit them.