59 Replies Latest reply on Nov 23, 2015 11:00 AM by Deepak Gupta

New(ish) to Solidworks coming from ProE

Frank Schiavone

My company has handed me Solidworks 2014 to learn as we've aquired several smaller companies that use it, so I'll be tasked to learn and use it in addition to Pro/E so I'm here to seek opinions and help learning it.  I'm planning on being an expert-level on SW in time as well.  Looks good on the resume, right? 

Background:

I'm a guru-level Pro/E user (not bragging, it is what it is), having started on it in '96 (V 15), and had been the same level user on AutoCAD starting in '86 (V 2.18).  I played around with CV (hated it) before AutoCAD, and also in the late '80's spent time learning Wavefront professional animation software.  I also spent 6 months on Solidworks in the 2004 timeframe and became pretty good at it at the time.  We're currently still stuck on an old version of Pro/E (creo elements/pro 5.0) that has THE worst interface by far of all the Pro/E versions I've ever used, so it's not an apples-to-apples comparison, but we have creo 3 that I will be loading and learning soon.  For reference, I do a lot of top-down design of IM plastic parts/assemblies, die-castings, and other heavily surfaced parts with draft, rounds, etc..

Reason for learning SW:

As I mentioned, we buy smaller companies that have designs in it, but also management is going to want high-level user input on what software to use for our NEW designs going forward.  I want to be able to give them an apples-to-apples comparison of features and capabilities.....and limitations.