1 Reply Latest reply on Sep 21, 2007 7:09 PM by Pete Yodis

Global Data Sharing and Colaboration

Karl Zemlin
      I'm a diehard Pro/E fan working for a company that went from SolidEdge to SolidWorks about a year ago. Currently we have no PDM. We have two other engineering groups in the world. Japan uses an NEC 2-D system (and was/is planning to move to Pro/E) and Germany uses Solid Edge. Key reasons that SolidWorks was selected over Pro/E for the US group was initial cost and ongoing cost of ownership for the data management side of things.

A project is underway to globalize our engineering - get our three groups singing from the same hymnal to make beautiful engineering music. We've had a couple of failed attempts in the past and feel we've learned from our mistakes so we are ready to give it another go. I'm optimistic that we can make it happen successfully this time. Moving to a common CAD platform with one global database and a PDM system capable of managing data at the multiple locations are considered key enablers in this move.

It has been said that since the US recently moved to SW, that we should standardize on that and move forward with SW in Japan and Germany along with a PDM solution.

I have suggested that the criteria used to select SW may not be applicable for a globalize engineering group and perhaps we should evaluate Pro/E vs. SW again before charging forward. Below is a note I sent to my boss a little while back that highlights one of my concerns.
      Something to consider regarding global PDM, database sharing, and all that.

File size of a SW capper assembly and drawing caught my attention recently.

200E0078 solid works drawing - 30.8MB

200E0078 assembly model - 16.6MB

For comparison, the top level assemblies and drawings for an SE24 sorter are less than 100k each.