12 Replies Latest reply on Feb 16, 2018 10:26 AM by Jim Steinmeyer

Move to PDM Standard?

Philip Lane

We use EPDM, soon to be known as PDM-Pro (sounds too PTC for my liking).

As PDM Works, or Workgoup is being phased out in favour of a cut-down EPDM, to be called EPDM-Standard, I am very interested in what the likely up-take is going to be for EPDM-Std.

If anyone is keen to pony-up their intentions .

Thanks.

• Re: Move to PDM Standard?
          Chris Champions

Here is the start

http://www.cadtek.com/what-is-solidworks-pdm-standard/

you need a serial number of PDM standard to intall & run and it won't be available until the end of November

By the way, if you are using ePDM (renamed to PDM pro. in SW2016) now and there is no option to down grade to PDM standard

Justin Hunt

Hi there. I am a PDM Professional administrator for 300 users. I have had a chance to configure PDM standard for a myself and for another company. I have managed to take all that I have learned about engineering process and cram it into 10 states (the limit for PDM Standard).

This workflow has two revision formats (one for engineering documents and one for office documents). It also contains a major / minor revision path, and a revers action tool for when you need to cancel your ECR transitions. I am happy to talk about more about this if you want . PDM Standard can do A LOT of stuff.workflow.png

Jonathan Leeper

Justin,

I'm trying to get my major/minor revision to work with manual revisions- but instead of A.001, A.002..., B.001, B.002, the pull down options are A.001, B.002, C.003. There is no option for selecting A.002 or C.001, the counter for minor revisions is somehow tied to a major rev.  Any hints?

-Jonathan

Justin Hunt

Hi Johnathan,

Can you take a few screen shot of your revision counters and how you have them setup (Revision Number Components and Revision Numbers)? Also, are you pushing revisions through the transition or the state?

Thanks, Justin

Jonathan Leeper