16 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2015 7:17 AM by Patrick Malone

Replace specific text (not Search/Replace)??

Patrick Malone

I have several pieces of text in a title block that I want to change.

I tried doing a record macro and it doesn't do it completely.

When I run the macro, I see it touch each piece of text in succession so

I am part way there. (Trying a different method than the search/replace

because I cannot assume the text value I am replacing is constant.)

I do know what it needs to be though...

I am looking into how to do a 'DoReplaceString strNote01.. for each item (boolstatus = item lines below)

that I want changed but do not know how to incorporate that function into my code.

(Admitting to being a total novice-wannabe-newbie programmer)

I am as interested in learning how to do this as much as getting it to work...

This is what I recorded and edited.

Adding my variables (the "mytext1" items will be replaced with the actual text I am to use of course)

Am I close or way off here?

Any help is appreciated!!

= = = = = == = == = == = == = == = == = == = == = == = == = =

Dim swApp As Object

Dim Part As Object

Dim boolstatus As Boolean

Dim longstatus As Long, longwarnings As Long

Dim strNote01 As String = "mytext1"

Dim strNote02 As String = "mytext2"

Dim strNote03 As String = "mytext3"

Dim strNote04 As String = "mytext4"

Dim strNote05 As String = "mytext5"

Sub main()

Set swApp = _

Application.SldWorks

Set Part = swApp.ActiveDoc

boolstatus = Part.Extension.SelectByID2("Sheet1", "SHEET", 0.544872734994015, 6.84439369661325E-02, 0, False, 0, Nothing, 0)

Part.EditTemplate

Part.EditSketch

Part.ClearSelection2 True

boolstatus = Part.Extension.SelectByID2("DetailItem2173@Sheet Format11", "NOTE", 0.551409013785214, 7.55404682251479E-02, 0, False, 0, Nothing, 0)

'Hoping I can replace the text selected here with my "mytext" item....