7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 23, 2015 9:02 AM by David Flemming

Problem with flow simulation on a vertical axial  turbine (3 blade Giromill)

Ijihj Ijijijij

Hi,

I am doing my bachelor thesis where i  design  a turbine using solidoworks in the flow simulation part i need  to make a curve perfomance,  Power coefficient versus T.S.R ,defining  a constant flow speed of 2m/s and variant rotational  rotor speed  but the outlet torque only increase then it´s imposible to make the curve

Captura de pantalla 2015-10-13 19.45.48.pngCaptura de pantalla 2015-10-13 19.48.35.png

the simulation is an internal flow rate through a tube.

what´s wrong?

Thanks in advance.

• Re: Problem with flow simulation on a vertical axial  turbine (3 blade Giromill)
          David Flemming

Hi...Considering your study is an internal analysis, I see you have defined the inlet boundary condition as a velocity (Inlet Velocity 1), but have you defined the outlet boundary condition? for example, an ambient static pressure.

• Re: Problem with flow simulation on a vertical axial  turbine (3 blade Giromill)
            Amit Katz

Your local rotating region is quite a bit larger than your turbine. Remember that every fluid cell inside of that region will be locked into the angular velocity that you set, so your model is likely not approximating reality very well.

Additionally, remember that there is no fluid-structure interaction being simulated in Flow Sim. Any motion of the turbine is set ahead of time by the local rotating region definition. In that sense you are not really simulating a turbine here, it's more like simulating a fan or a mixer.

David Flemming