28 Replies Latest reply on Oct 15, 2015 7:51 PM by Dennis Bacon

How to export dxf w/ closed loop vectors?

Douglas Madaras

Novice here- My CNC guy requires dxf files. Those I exported have "broken vectors". He needs them 'connected'. It seems all the lines are being converted to a series of short line segments- individual vectors.

Oy- the learning curve is grand. Any assist is appreciated.

• Re: How to export dxf w/ closed loop vectors?
          Bob Van Dick

Douglas,

I downloaded your dxf file and didn't find what you are describing.  They were just lines and arcs, 12 entities in all.  Maybe there is something going on at his end.

This is what my export options look like.

Bob

Bob Van Dick

Douglas,

I have brought this file into our laser programming software and works fine, no short lines...

Bob

Douglas Madaras

I appreciate the help so far but my skull must be too thick or I am missing something real obvious. Maybe a better question is:

How do I join lines so my save as dxf come out as two separate entities and not 12?

Bob Van Dick

Douglas,

I don't believe what you are asking can be done in SolidWorks, and to tell you the truth, I can't understand why that would need to be done.  Any programming software I have ever used would have no problem attaching a toolpath to the dxf file that SolidWorks is exporting.  What exactly needs to be accomplished with this dxf file?

Bob

Douglas Madaras

Bob- thanks.