26 Replies Latest reply on Nov 17, 2009 11:04 AM by Emilio Graff

Does SW 2008 have conics?

Kevin Quigley
      Anyone know if 2008 has any enhancements to the sketcher forcreating conic curves? I see it is still on the enhancement list somaybe not.....

Are there any add ons available that handle conic curves? CurrentlyI import my curve network (that uses conics) from Ashlar-VellumCobalt (which has great conic controls), but the problem with thisis that it makes tweaking very hard to do.

I am left to wonder, with all the advances SW has made insurfacing, why a fundamental feature like conics has been left outfor so long?
        • Does SW 2008 have conics?
          Chris Dordoni
          Kevin,

Do you mean conic surfaces, not conic curves?

I'm new to SolidWorks, but it seems to me conic surfaces could begenerated easily by offsetting a curve by a desired amount, andthen lofting between the original and offset version?

Or, Are you referring to bending/unbending conic surfaces insheetmetal?

No,

It did not make it into 2008.

Dan Martin
                Hi Mark,

any update on whether conic curves will make it into 2009 at any SP?
                    Harold Brunt
                    Perhaps someone can double check me on this but I think this will work. In the case of a lens surface for example:

The formula is y=(x^2/R)/(1+(1-(1+b)/(x/R)^2)^.5)
                    where x = the start and end points ( 0 and the lens diameter /2)
                    R = the lens prescription radius
                    b = the conic constant (Rho)

For a sphere the conic = 0; for an Ellipse 0>b>-1; for a Parabola b = -1; and for a Hyperbola b< -1

I had been using this as a DT in 08 but the formula seems to work fine without the clutter of the table in 09. I plugged the Radius, Diameter and conic numbers into the lens design function of my OptisWorks Add-In and the curves lay over each other the best I can tell.