2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 5, 2015 1:17 PM by Andrei Popov

Help

Sam Chen

Hello everyone:
           I am a mechanical engineering student,I have no idea about setting boundary condition,

what are the difference when I setting pressure opening for : environment pressure , static pressure and total pressure ?
      My case is evacuating Nitrogen from a chamber. The inlet flow is set volume flow 0.000333 m^3/s at 303K, 0.2MPA ?
      Which PRESSURE type should I use??????  The pump at outlet could be at 0.001 MPA.
      THANKS!!

• Re: Help
          Amit Katz

The difference between total and static pressure is something you will learn when you start taking fluid mechanics courses. Static pressure is just "pressure", it's the mechanical potential of a fluid at a given point. "Total pressure" is similar to stagnation pressure, it's the sum of the potential and kinetic energies of a fluid at a given point. If you haven't had these courses yet then you probably don't need to worry about the details for your project, check with your professor to find out what the scope of the project entails.

Environmental pressure is a concept used for this CFD code. The details of what it means can be found in the online help documentation: