13 Replies Latest reply on Sep 8, 2015 1:39 PM by John Kamin

How to locate features

Kingsley Hill

I am new to SolidWorks.  I am want to do a simple thing and while I can think of a few ways to accomplish it, I am sure there is an easy and recommended way to do it.

I have, for example, a 2D sketch of a stainless tube.  (extruded from circle on the horizontal plane).  I need to locate some holes in the tube.  I need one 1.375" from the bottom (horizontal plane) ... and a few others.  The need to be a certain heights.  They need to enter the tube from different angles, sometimes square to the tube, sometimes at an angle.  Is there a way to turn on a measurement readout for the cursor relative to a specific place or the origin.?

What is the recommended/trained/easiest way to locate and make the holes?

• Re: How to locate features
          Mike Price

Hi Kingsley,

Are you new to CAD or just SW?

I ask because while there are certain ways you can approach this in SW versus other CAD programs, the design methodology is somewhat similar.

For example, are you just talking about a couple holes in the tube, or lots of holes (is patterning a requirement)?

Are the holes all of the same configuration with regards to size or does each one have a different size?

Kingsley Hill

Hi Mike,

Thanks for the response.  I have some experience with 2D CAD (AutoCAD), but never got really good at it.

This is a rather general question.  I am basically looking for the simple/accepted way to locate a hole on a part.  Patterning and repeating I think I understand.  Slightly more complex is the question of non-perpendicular (to the central axis) holes.

I could create a plane tangent to the surface of the tube, and then a plane parallel to the horizontal (top) plane offset by the desired distance, then put the hole at the intersection -- but that seems like a lot of work and clutters up the drawing a lot.

Mike Price

Do you have 2015?

Deepak Gupta