15 Replies Latest reply on Apr 14, 2011 5:03 PM by Jacob Cordingley

Run macro when saving

Adam Meyer
      Hey all,

I'm a newbie when it comes to macros, and the search feature doesn't work, so I have to ask.

Can someone show me how to get a macro to run when saving a file in Solidworks. I have the macro, but I'd like to modify it so that it runs when saving a drawing.

Thanks,

Adam
        • Run macro when saving
          Josh Brady
          It's not particularly easy to do, and not really best to do with macros either. If possible, it is better to delete your save button off the toolbar and replace it with a macro button.
          • Run macro when saving
            Adam,

Other option is to have the macro running in the background and have it monitor when the users presses the save button it would run your code. It has been a while since I did something like this, so I will have to look at the proeedure to do it.
              • Run macro when saving
                Adam Meyer

Wayne Matus wrote:

Adam,

Other option is to have the macro running in the background and have it monitor when the users presses the save button it would run your code. It has been a while since I did something like this, so I will have to look at the proeedure to do it.

Any help is appreciated.
              • Run macro when saving
                Tobin Sparks
                Howdy adam,

The attached file and .bmp might help.
                It contains instructions for adding a button and a sample button you might be able to use.

• Run macro when saving
                    OK, here is the macro. You will need to edit and place your code in the preSave sub on the Class1 module.

The macro stays running in the background, so you run it once and it stays running until you close SolidWorks. It will run your code just before the active document is actually saved.
                      • Run macro when saving
                        Steve Hall